Literary linking #4

literarylink(text)

It’s World Book Day tomorrow, so here’s some book-themed literary linkings for you:

  1. Thanks to Helen at a gallimaufry – a long-time favourite bookish blog – I was reminded that’s time for the Diagram Prize for the Oddest Book Title of the Year. If you’re interested, my vote went to “Divorcing a Real Witch: For Pagans and the People That Used to Love Them”
  2. A long-lost Dr Seuss book – What Pet Should I Get – is due for release on the 28th July. Oh The Places You Will Go was read at my wedding by my lovely mum-in-law in one of our surprise readings.
  3. It turns out literary jobs are the most desirable
  4. The Folio Prize shortlist is out and there’s a couple of contenders on my TBR list. Interestingly, they also announced, for the first time, the books they considered that didn’t make the cut. I wonder how Martin Amis, Sarah Waters, Peter Carey and Richard Flanagan feel about that?
  5. Which of these 25 Greatest Homes in Literature is your top choice? I’m  “Manderley” all the way (with Misselthwaite Manor from The Secret Garden a close second).
2 thoughts on “Literary linking #4

  1. Lovely links! 🙂

    I was wondering about the literary homes, do they mean places you’d actually like to live? (Why else include the cottage in Sense and Sensibility, but not Gormenghast?) Because rather too many of them contained ghosts or housekeepers or had a propensity to burn down. I should definitely like to live in Misselthwaite Manor, but you are very welcome to Manderley!

    Like

    • Thanks! And good point about the literary homes. As ever, there’s a ton left off the list but you’re right that there’s still a few ‘creepy’ options on there. I mostly want to live in Manderley because of where it is (my dream home always includes access to a private West Country beach!) but I will add the caveats that there should be no Mrs Danvers lurking and it isn’t going to burn down at any time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

