The aquisition of books…

I’ve just finished reading Andy Miller’s The Year of Reading Dangerously and it contained this quote, taken from an essay entitled ‘On Reading and Books’ by Schopenhauer that was written over 150 years ago:

“It would be a good thing to buy books if one could also buy the time to read them; but one usually confuses the purchase of books with the acquisition of their contents.”

I don’t presume to speak for anyone else, but this is woefully true of me and my recent book buying tendencies. Having visited a couple of great secondhand bookshops recently and being newly energised by discoveries in my local library, I’ve been ‘acquiring’ books like a fiend. But I have, as yet, utterly failed in my goal to add another few hours to the average day. They still stubbornly persist in being just 24 hours long, minus time for sleeping, emailing (oh please save me), work, more emailing (seriously, how can there be so many?) and eating.

But what a wonderful idea to ponder on.

“I’ll take this Rumer Godden please, and could you throw in 2-3 hours on a Sunday afternoon to make a decent start on it?

Thanks ever so much…”

Leave a Reply

